FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Returning to work during a breakdown. What do I do?

Adrienne87
Community Member
Hi all, I’ve never written here before but I really needed a boost of courage. I am 31 years old and I’ve always been an anxious person but never let it stop me from travelling the world.

However 2 years ago I suffered a shoulder injury at my work and the stress started to slowly pile on me. I started workcover and experience a really horrible time on it due to bullying by my first rehab provider. I ended up having to take another job within my company due to the injury(leaving the role I loved), which came with a truck load of more responsibilities and pressure - as well as work place bullying and a negative environment. I went to my manager about everything above several times and it was just brushed off.

Fast forward to July this year and I had my first panic attack at work. I ran out of there as fast as I could and since that day, I woke up everyday with a racing heart (that’s if I could sleep), sweating hands and feet and racing thoughts.
I attempted to keep up with the work and worked from home but work kept piling more pressure on me until my body finally said enough!

I’ve been off work since September and since then I checked myself into a facility(1 day I lasted there), I have tried anti depressants which I reacted badly too, tried various ones and no medications sit well with me. I have started seeing a psychologist weekly who is doing EMDR therapy on me.

Everything was coming a long nicely with EMDR (physical symptoms had gone), until Wednesday when i was contacted by a return to work rehab provider who wanted to talk to me about getting back into some level of work.