FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overcoming anxiety of answering calls

Xavius
Community Member

So a few years ago I worked as a technical supervisor in the call centre of company I won't name. Being the piggy in the middle between call centre agents and my manager, I'd get all the angry people. This definitely took its toll on me. It got so bad that I quit that job, moved out of town, cancelled my mobile phone contract, deactivated my sim card and of course, severe depression.

I didn't have a phone for about 2 years and I absolutely refused to answer any calls. I didn't even answer my ex partners phones when they asked me to take a message. I physically just couldn't do it.

To some people it may sound silly, it kinda does though. But still to this day I have lingering effects of it. Although I've progressed and actually have a phone now, I don't answer private numbers or any other numbers I don't know. I don't even make any calls, when I do, it's a short conversation. I don't call unless I really, really, really have to.

Was thinking about seeing a hypnotherapist to see if that could help, but I'm a sceptic.

Anyone have any tips?

11 Replies 11

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi X, welcome

I know exactly that feeling.

When in the Air Force my mother wrote dramatic letters and that left me to this day 43 years later, getting chest flutters when emptying our letterbox.

Eventually 14 years later I had a workplace event that put me on work cover that had me under a therapist. That was 1987.

To this day I have to thank that therapist for steering me in the right direction and getting things into perspective. He picked me up on what was realistic and what thoughts were unrealistic.