FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

No right to be anxious

Jane_Melb
Community Member

Hi, I'm new to this but have been feeling a bit out of the driver's seat and wanted to reach out. I've read the other posts here and have had similar experiences. 

I am in my 30s and have always been very proactive and happy. This past year I have found myself constantly feeling like a failure, ruminating on mistakes, self-sabotaging through avoiding things I should be more engaged with and generally slipping into very negative self talk. 

I am at uni and get good grades and get a lot of positive comments at work but I just feel like I am a shadow of my former self and making increasingly bigger and unjustifiable mistakes. Last month in the middle of a video call I had to lie on the ground and deep breath while bursting into tears - I have never felt overwhelmed like this before, and although I have taken on a lot of work, it's no more than I usually balance. I have been putting it down to burn out and the general post-covid crazy that seems to be going around, but I just keep waiting to wake up refreshed and have it all stop and it hasn't after a year. 
I feel ridiculous seeking help because I have work, a flat, food etc. and really haven't lost anything through Covid like others have. 

Is this anxiety?

5 Replies 5

livi_mivi
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hey Jane, 

It sounds as though you have been dealing with some pretty overwhelming emotions as of late, I’m sorry to hear this! 

I just wanted to start of by saying that just because your circumstances might not be as bad as others, doesn’t make your feelings or need to seek help any less valid. Mental health struggles are a lot to deal with at times, especially when it is a relatively new experience for you.