FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I work full time - currently experiencing elevated anxiety - and take illicit substances to cope with the workload

kPo
Community Member

This is my first time posting - but i don't know where else to get proper advice.

I work full time, live in a regional town with thousands of others but am here alone. It's the night before my 25th birthday (40 mins away), and I want to get help - Can I go to the hospital?

I need to get off this s**t (ice) but I'm afraid I'll lose my job because I'll be unable to keep up with work demands. Up until recently I've been doing moderately well, considering what I've been putting in my body. I've somehow to managed to hold my job, but I know I'm on my last leg with them. They're aware of my anxiety issues, to some extent. But each time I have a rough patch and am unable to attend work, or I need to leave due to an overbearing situation, I'm left feeling hollow and feeling like my words are falling on deaf ears. They "understand" what I'm going through, but do nothing to help otherwise. I can't talk to my workplace about the extent of my issues, that would be highly inappropriate and would definitely get me fired. I know it's stupid - smoking ice to stay awake and do work. But I can't blame work entirely. I've known for a while that I started smoking it to cope with a relationship breakdown with my partner (same sex btw).

What do I do? I am so dedicated to this job. Not many queer POC in their early 20s gets a senior corporate job. But I want to leave. Money is the main issue holding me in, but the longer I stay I feel like more and more is going to this addiction and further elevating the anxiety.