FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How To Stay Afloat

Lu8Lu8
Community Member

Hi all, it’s been a while since I’ve been in here. I’m really struggling again with anxious thoughts and feeling like I’m drowning. I am struggling to even find the place to start. 

I am studying my masters in teaching and am currently on placement and absolutely loving it. However, I feel a little overwhelmed by the workload of uni assessments and prac teaching. I’m also stressing about going back to my regular teacher aide job once prac is done as I know I will hate not being able to teach. My partner and I are also looking to buy our first house together which has been stressful figuring out what we both do and don’t want, looking at houses and getting excited and then disappointed when things aren’t as they seem. My partner also works a lot so we barely get time to see each other and it gets lonely. I don’t really have friends either because I find it hard to make and keep friends due to personality differences. 

Even though I seem to be handling everything on my plate okay, I feel like I’m drowning sometimes. I get anxious and I overthink and worry about how things will turn out or if they will turn out. It can be hard to switch my mind off to go to sleep at night. I try to listen to soundscapes and meditations every once in a while which can help but often it just irritates me. I do yoga but I just don’t find the time to be consistent with it. 

I honestly want to start a hobby like watercolour painting to take my mind off things but I think it might just add to my stress. Maybe? I don’t know. 

Has anyone got any ideas that I can try to help me manage my anxiety and relax better? I am really trying to stay afloat here. 

2 Replies 2

ABC01
Community Member

Dear Lu8Lu8,