FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety over twilight sedation

anx187
Community Member

Hello,

this is my first time posting in this forum so forum, so please forgive me if I have posted in the wrong section. a bit about myself- I have suffered with health anxiety for most of my adulthood which stems from a traumatic birth of my first daughter.

I am having a small procedure done under a twilight sedation soon, I have alot of anxiety over the sedation, can anyone give me some positive insight? and any tips to reduce my anxiety leading up to it. and tips or reassurance would be very much appreciated! Feeling scared!

3 Replies 3

blondguy
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Anx187

Welcome and good on you for having the courage to post too!

You are not alone having anxiety feelings prior to having a procedure. I understand your situation as I used to have chronic anxiety and felt anxious in the 30 minutes prior to a procedure

I dont know how many days it is until your procedure....yet over thinking or catastrophising about any event can make our lives miserable prior to sedation...and are unhelpful

Can I ask if you have twilight sedation before? .....Just so I can provide you with a more helpful reply if thats okay

I know that twilight sedation was wonderful when I had my wisdom teeth removed and it was a peaceful and relaxing place to be...(and a lot less powerful than a general anesthetic)

Just a note....your GP would be a great help for you at this time 🙂

my kind thoughts

Paul

anx187
Community Member