FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Young and hurting

Justharry
Community Member

Hi

I’m a complete newbie to any forum and especially about mental health. But I thought at this tough time I needed to speak out and not hold it in. So here it goes.

I'm 21 and still living at home with my parents while studying sport management. I still have a part time retail job and making a good income. I recently purchased my first new used car with help from dad but I’m paying him back in good terms. Another addition in my life is my new puppy Ziggy (mini dachshund)-10 weeks. Which is keeping me company in isolation.
So life on the surface seems great with everything but when you scratch the surface I’m not healthy as I need to be.

Firstly, my health overall is good but my fitness level is below average. Partly due to not playing footy atm. I’m not on any medications or anything but I am wanting to improve my health and gain advantages out of my healthy body. But I can’t. My mental health is stopping me. Every time before iso I had gym phobia. I would hate going and get really down on myself. My diet would go into a bad patch for the week , eating junk food etc. Just before iso I improved it with gradually going to the gym but could never keep a good routine.

im a really outgoing person. I love seeing friends and family and I love my face to face interactions at work but I feel like something is holding me back. Then my anxious mind overpowers my body.