FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

worried about the future

Asdfghjkl_
Community Member

Hi, I am a year 12 student currently not in a fantastic space.

even thinking about the idea of graduation makes me feel sick, the idea of leaving everything that I know behind is terrifying. To some extent, I know that it probably will be ok eventually, but I feel like I can't convince myself of that. People around me are so excited to leave high school, but I genuinely just can't understand how to look forward to a future I know nothing about. I guess its the freedom and what not, but to be honest I don't care that much about that. Many of my friends are leaving school and going interstate, and I am constantly worried that I won't be able to make friends after graduation. 

5 Replies 5

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

I hope I can help.  Have you taken steps to secure your friends you have now? like I assume you have them as friends on social media?  What about their address to send xmas and birthday cards? Do you have their birthday as these actions eg a birthday card can secure friendships rather well?

At 17yo I joined the AirForce. Imagine, they cut your hair to almost nothing, put you on a plane to Adelaide, gave you clothes and you immediately mixed with 27 other new recruits. But after 2-3 days I was settled and you eluded that you know all will be ok so my thoughts are that you could have some anxiety there.

I suggest a visit to your GP would be a sound step. Many people dont realise they could be harbouring a medical disorder and often it is a temporary condition based on your environment or proposed changes in your life present past or future.

I hope you enjoy this site. We have a great library - just use search at the top.

TonyWK

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni