FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Why is it so hard to find a job?

Iced_Tea
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
I graduated from High School in 2014 and did a few courses here and there like I did my Certificate IV in Community Services and Certificate III in Early Childhood Education and Care and really just trying to find something that I can relate my interest to and to get an idea of what it is that I'd want to do. I'm currently doing my Diploma in Community Services (Case Management) because I finally found an interest in the field. I did work as a Disability Support Worker that paid well for a year and they unfortunately terminated my employment because they wanted someone who can do more hours than I do, I tried arguing that it is also because I am a full-time student but it seemed like the admin person just had something to say which really pissed me off. I tried so hard looking for a job in the field, maybe something other than a support worker again, just want to try something different but why the hell is it so hard to look for a job? Out of the 60 jobs I applied for online, all I'm receiving are rejections because I'm not "experienced" enough. Well how can you expect someone to be "experienced" if you can't even give them an experience to do?
3 Replies 3

blondguy
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Iced Tea

My apologies for the late response.....we are usually pretty quick

Good on you for doing your Diploma in Community Services and working for a year too!

Finding employment in your field or an unrelated field is hard work unfortunately. I am not sure how much of your diploma you have remaining.

Your question about being inexperienced still not gaining employment is a valid one