FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Trying to find a purpose in life.

ItsDestiny
Community Member
Hello, my name is Katy and I am a 19 year old female with PTSD,
depression, anorexia nervosa, agoraphobia, anxieties, constant stiffness - causing
pain and so many more medical conditions. This is my first time
posting on Beyond Blue and I am hoping to gain an understanding how others deal
with their trauma and chronic physical illnesses as I am struggling to deal
with my own. I have also been encouraged to reach out to others, who have
an understanding on how difficult it is to be an independent person.

All of my life, I have been socially awkward, struggling to fit in with
people my own age as I have always had low self-esteem. I am shy by
nature, and I have always found to be a target for bullies, dominating and
controlling people. Now, I am just socially awkward around everyone,
(excluding my mother and brother). My anxieties flare to the extreme (panic and
asthma attack) when I am present near another person or child, which makes a
normal life impossible.

I have been through so many traumatic experiences and these experiences
haunt me constantly, during my waking and sleeping moments. I feel in the
last 15 months, since my health issues escalated, that I am a failure in life
and a test rat for medical science. As my medications are changed
constantly due to unaffectedness or the side effects are too extreme.

I have been seeing a doctor and psychologist, who have both being
supportive, unfortunately they do not understand all my concerns. I also see
a psychiatrist who I no longer have faith in, as his prescription’s in
medication has left me feeling worse than ever. I do not feel that he takes all
my medical history into consideration and I no longer trust his advice.