FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Struggling to find myself. Or to like myself.

Ryan92
Community Member

Hi guys, i'm totally new to this thing but i feel like i need to get some things off my chest that have been weighing me down pretty much my whole life. I'm a 21 year old guy who can't seem to find any reason to be genuinely happy. I find it very hard to admit, but i practically have no friends, which i think is pretty sad and a major cause for my depression. I have nobody to call on if i'm ever bored, nobody to just spend time with because i believe that i'm not good enough for others to show interest. I always feel like people are judging me because i see so many flaws in myself that i'm worried are visible to the outside world to scrutinise. Whether it's at work, uni, at the shops, or even driving my car, i always think somebody somewhere is looking at me and judging me. These thoughts are slowly consuming me and i can't even walk in public without sweating like crazy and feeling immensely tense and worried that people are looking down at me.

Physically, i've been told by many that i'm good looking (not to toot my own horn or anything, i just want you to know that nothing physically is drawing these worries, it's all internal and it's all in my head). The only time i can truly be myself and truly be able to relax and breathe is when i am on my own in my own house. At all other times i am so stressed. I'm just so unhappy with my life. I have a great job, i study at university, but i need more than that. Something other than the materialistic aspects of life. I want to be able to like people and for them to like me. I want to be able to approach people as my normal self and form at least 1 normal friendship.