FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I am so tired

Eoeon
Community Member

Hi! I’m 18 years old, fresh out of high school last year.

I must say, I do not live a quiet life, and I have a lot of plans for the future. I’m a first year university student (luckily in an ‘easy’ humanities subject), I’m a beginner member of my university’s kendo club (where I’ve met some lovely supporting friends this year), and I work 5 days a week at the airport, where I assist elderly or disabled passengers in making their way from check in the the gate. I also try to keep a social life.

After my bachelors degree, I would love to travel the world as a flight attendant while I do my masters and hopefully doctorate, and then settle into either airline management, or full time research at the university.

I love all of these things with my whole heart, but I am so so so so tired. I don’t feel like there is any room for any ‘me time’ and no matter how much sleep I get, I am extremely tired at all times.

my record so far for ‘busiest day’ went like this: 

3am: wake up

5-12: work

1-5pm: university and study

6-8pm: kendo 

8-11: social life

12:30am: home

of course not every day is like this, and some days I might only have one thing to do.

Most people would just say to ‘work less’ or ‘quit kendo’ (my mum has told me this many times). But I don’t think either of these things are plausible. 

my job is part time, and I have no flexibility about how much I work and when. (Pretty much all companies at the airport are like this. As they say ‘we can’t change when planes take off.’) and I love my job, it’s honestly great and I meet some amazing people, and gain experience that will help me fulfil my dream.