FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Partner of 5 years is a drug addict and depressed. Trying to support him.

Loc92
Community Member

Hi everyone, this is my first time using a platform like this. I really don’t know where to start but in summary my partner of five years whom I live with struggles with depression and addiction (alcohol/ket). I am now starting to struggling myself with managing my own mental health trying to support him. He is aware he has an issue and has started to seek professional help(counselling) however, since doing so the issue has gotten A LOT worse. I am trying to be supportive and set reasonable boundaries in place but feel like it’s not working. I know this won’t be fixed over night and it maybe a life long battle.

I feel since seeking help he uses this as a way around doing drugs more and expecting me to be more accepting of it. Due to the virus we are now both not working meaning more stress and more time on our hands. Since no longer working, he has drank everyday apart from a handful and on those days he was on drugs.

He is not Aggressive or abusive under the influence. He is always loving and caring. I love him dearly and really would like some tips or advice to help me cope with supporting him but also making sure my needs are met as well. Is this even possible!?

1 Reply 1

therising
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Loc92

My heart goes out to you as you face this incredible struggle, not just in relation to your partner but also in relation to the mental health challenges you are now facing yourself.