FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How can I communicate without saying the wrong thing.

Basha
Community Member

Hi I'm new to this and would like some guidance to support a dear friend.

My friend is an old Royal Aust Navy mate who lives in a suburb of Perth.I live in Melbourne.face to face isn't possible.

I have just hung up from him on the phone and feel that I need to support him more than I do. The conversation went - I am going backwards.I don't have the motivation to get out of bed of a morning (My wife has told my GP I would sleep all day if left).I find it difficult to plan and make simple decisions. My GP has upped my Meds.

His problem isn't new to me as we have had previous discussions.

once sent him a blank bound book and said when ever you feel down just reflect on the good times and write them down.

When we talk we are always talking about 'the good ol days' of our time in the service.

ny advice would be appreciated - Basha

3 Replies 3

Soberlicious96
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

HI Basha.

My suggestion to you, would be to recommend to your friend to get some professional help from a counselor or some sort of mental health support worker. A GP is great at helping with medical issues, and can certainly prescribe medications for depression etc, but sometimes it helps to get that extra help for the mind, as well as the body.