FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

EMPTINESS???

eukaryote
Community Member

Hello all!

I am new to this forum, in fact I am new to even opening up about pretty much anything so I look forward to talking with you all. To be honest I don't even know where to begin, so I'll keep it short and simple -

Almost a decade ago, I was having the time of my life. And by that I mean that I was feeling good about myself - I was achieving, I was being praised (admitted something you should definitely not solely rely on) and overall had a very secure sense of self and purpose. However, after this things just seemed to gradually go down hill, year after year. While I still felt the need to achieve, it was as though my 'mojo' had just evaporated into thin air! Those around me started to achieve more than myself, which at the time significantly bothered me (unfortunately at the time I was competitive, perhaps from an inflated ego from the previous years). While I eventually I got what needed to be done (not to the best of my abilities) my self esteem or motivation never quite returned.

Now in the past year or two, my motivation, self esteem and sense of purpose feels like it has just completely deflated. While I have something I am working towards in life, everything seems pointless. I'm not sure if I have depressive symptoms, considering that I never consulted a mental health professional. However, lately it has got to the point where I don't feel like getting out of bed purely because I don't see the point, I don't want to sleep at night because for some odd reason it seems like a chore (I look at my phone instead), I feel heavy and often procrastinate because of feeling overwhelmed, even with simple tasks.