FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Admission of lies

Dash13
Community Member

Good morning everyone. I’m a newbie and I’m here to change my life. I need to stop my lying but more importantly repair the damage I’m causing to those I love.

I recently separated and I re-partnered. My marriage was one that was full of lies yet I struggled to let it go. This was an issue for me in the new relationship, with whom I started lying to. I broke off the new one, explored options of fixing the old one, all the while no truth about what I was doing was given. Of course, I got caught out by my new partner. Btw, they are an amazing person who knows and cares deeply for me, however I think that is now lost.

In a major step to clean out the lie locker, I provided the old partner from my marriage every detail of my lying to them, including indiscretions of infidelity and my intentions with my new partner. I needed a clean break. Of course this has caused a lot of chaos.

Now for my new partner who I don’t want to lose, I have squarely lost their trust. I’m not certain of things, I’m very nervous, but I want to pull out all stops to make myself better and trustworthy again.

I look forward to being part of this forum to read your stories and perhaps learn for myself how to end this behaviour with the hope of a future with my amazing new partner.

3 Replies 3

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

I want to welcome you, Dash to the forum. This is a friendly and support place full of nonjudgmental people.

You have insight now into your lies and have written a very honest post.

I have told lies in my past and it can become a habit that is hard to break.

I have learnt that I need to accept responsibility for what I have done and apologise sincerely.

Sometimes writing a letter to the person that was hurt by lies.