FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Medication for Generalised Anxiety

Lily95
Community Member

Hi everyone,

I feel a bit weird posting this as I have never used one of these forums before, but I have a lot of anxiety relating to my treatment currently that I feel as though I have no one to discuss this with.

I was diagnosed with generalised anxiety disorder three years ago and have been managing it with cognitive behaviour therapy, counselling, exercise, etc., since. My psychologists have termed me as very 'high-functioning' and believed I would be best with medication from the beginning. I have tried to hold this off for a very long time as my mother has a very poor viewpoint on people who medicate for anxiety and depression...her viewpoints are not my own but I will as though I have 'failed' in a way because of her beliefs. *I study nursing and have a high respect for mental health and medication, this is just relating to my own treatment*

Also because of my nursing degree, I feel as though I have almost too much knowledge of the side effects of these medications, and how hard it can be to come off them later.

I'm in the final year of my degree and am no longer coping in terms of my anxiety, as I now have constant panic/panic attacks due to constant stress, high pressure environments and lack of sleep. My counsellor recommended me to discuss my options with my GP, whom I went to speak with today. He believes I am also suffering from a moderate amount of depression (which I had also realised) and wrote me a prescription for a low-dose of a common SSRI, and wants to have regular check-ups to monitor it's effectiveness.