FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Gag reflex irritation while on SSRIs

qfskies18
Community Member

Hey all!

Im relatively new to being on medication, having only started about six weeks ago, but I’ve had the same problem with two different SSRIs of having an irritated gag reflex. The first one was really bad, I always felt like I was about to gag or throw up, which was why I switched. This new one is definitely not as bad but still there and it’s very frustrating. Has anyone else experienced this side effect with any medications? How long did it take to go away if so? I’m highly considering not trying a third drug and going to therapy instead, as I feel I can’t cope with these side effects much longer, they’re impacting my quality of life. Someone suggested it might be the drug making my anxiety worse which is causing the gag response but I’ve never had this issue with my anxiety before these drugs

Any insight is much appreciated!

Thanks!

18 Replies 18

blondguy
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi qfskies18

Welcome and thankyou for being a part of the forums too! It does take courage to post on the forums

I havent had the gag reflex with my SSRI's like you are experiencing qfskies18....This would be frustrating to go through especially after such a short period of time

After being anti-meds for a long time they actually helped my anxiety reduce so much...Can I ask if you are on SSRI's for depression...anxiety? (just so we can provide you with better support)

The forums are a rock solid safe and non judgemental place for you to post whats on your mind..Your well being and privacy are paramount here

There are many gentle people on the forums that can be here for you too 🙂

we are listening

Paul

missep123
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi qfskies18',