FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Newbie here

Jodmay85
Community Member

Hello everyone I am new here and I am struggling to deal with a 15yr old boy who has mental health problems and being a 15yr old who just wants to push your buttons.

he has just come out saying he thinks he may be gay and I am totally okay and supportive about it.. but now he doesn’t want to go to school and argues with me everyday about going...

anything I say or do I am wrong to him, he thinks I don’t care and I don’t understand.. he is making me feel like I am a bad parent and that I don’t care when I absolutely do and everything I do is to make him a better person and so he will be able to deal with life as an adult.. he has had mental health issues for a few years now and i went through it as a single mum, his mental health issues have cause a lot of relationships to fail.. I have now been in a relationship for 12month but once again my sons mental health issues are putting stress on our relationship.. is it wrong that this makes me angry and upset?
why can’t I be happy for once? I mean my children will always come first but don’t I deserve some happiness? I am drained from dealing with a very difficult child for years and I don’t know how much more I can take..

2 Replies 2

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion
Hi, welcome

I am one to think "outside the box" with topics such as this.

At 4 days past my 17th birthday I joined the air force. I had only completed year 10- just passed. Although I only was in it for 3 years it set me up for many other professions- warder, dog ranger, etc.