FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Don't know what to do anymore

Candlelight_vigil
Community Member
Hello. I'm new to this and am looking for help. My son has been suffering from depression for many years now and despite all the treatment options we have explored- G.P., psychologist, psychiatrist, anti depressants, anti psychotics, ECT, ...you name it, nothing has helped. I suggest he has treatment resistant depression. He has previously attempted suicide 3 times. He is currently at an all time low and is saying he has had enough and just wants to switch off.. permanently. I have been fighting for him and with him to keep him alive but feel I am losing the battle. I don't know what to do anymore. Would appreciate any help that you have to offer.
2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Hi Candlelight vigil,

Welcome to our online community. We are glad you decided to reach out here tonight. We are so sorry to hear about what you and your son are going through, and clearly have been going through for a long time. We can hear that this must be exhausting and heartbreaking for you. It sounds like you are a deeply caring parent in the way that you have been fighting for him and with him. We think you are a really strong person. 

If at any time you believe that your son is in immediate danger, please call 000 (triple zero) as this is an emergency.

We understand that feeling that you are losing the battling must be exhausting. Please know that there is always hope and it can sometimes take a long time to find what works, as this is different for everyone. You might be interested in reading the story of someone who has been through something similar. "Supporting my teenage son with suicidal thoughts"- https://www.beyondblue.org.au/personal-best/pillar/supporting-others/supporting-my-teenage-son-with-...