FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Intrusive suicidal ideation… How do you stop the thoughts?

Lost_In_Sydney
Community Member
Hi. I’m a 37yo medically retired nurse with cPTSD and a chronic neuropathic pain condition. I have an amazing team of clinicians but I seem to be getting worse. Currently completely lost and waiting on a bed at a psych clinic, in part to start a new type of antidepressant and mood stabilizer. I truly believe my husband and family would be better off without me, I’m a burden that they do not need. Only thing stopping me is that my parents have already lost one child already and I don’t know if I can do it to them. My brain takes snapshots of anything I see related to ending my life. Instead of just one plan, I now have six well thought out plans and they run through my head like a movie and I’m the viewer watching myself die again and again. My family has no idea about my SI, my husband knows very little and doesn’t really ask questions- I think he’s possibly afraid of the answers. I only leave my house for appointments and I only leave my bed when necessary. I don’t have a life so what’s the point in continuing?
2 Replies 2

Eagle Ray
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Dear Lost In Sydney

The snapshots and ideation you describe sound very much like what I’ve been experiencing on and off over the past 4 months, so I really empathise and understand it’s a horrible experience.

What seems to be helping me at the moment is knowing that things can and do change, and that those kinds of experiences are just when we are temporarily stuck. It just doesn’t feel temporary when we are stuck in the midst of it.