FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Graduate teacher terrified and doing it anyway!

Trying_to_fail_better
Community Member

Hello all,

I just wanted to share my feelings in a safe space with people I feel would understand them. I'm a recent graduate who took on my first teaching position this year and have spent most of term 1 off due to unexpected struggles with my physical and mental health. I had to take a 2 year break from study to focus on getting help with my mental health (I have CPTSD, ADHD, depression and anxiety) and it helped me finally develop self-compassion and stop believing I'm unlovable. I was really excited to start this job despite knowing it was going to be hard (it's a tough to staff secondary school, I'm primary trained, it involved a big move to a new place away from family/friends etc.) but I got COVID in week 2 and that totally threw me off! I tried going back to work before I was really recovered and gave myself lots of evidence that I couldn't teach so I got really hard on myself and took some huge steps back in my recovery. My mental health care team came together brilliantly, made me take the last 5 weeks off and helped me reflect on what was going on in my head. I'm feeling much more like myself again and back to being excited but I've got a lot to catch up on and the imposter syndrome/perfectionism are still there. The truth is, as much as I'm excited to have another go and have been more open and honest about needing support from my coworkers - I'm also terrified!