FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Self-help Methods for CPTSD

CKS
Community Member

Hi everyone

I am new to Beyond Blue. I am very sympathetic about all of us who have suffered childhood abuse and trauma. I have regular visits with my psychiatrist who i have been seeing for over 7 years. I have also attended many groups sessions and one on one counselling, but sometimes its still not enough to remedy how i feel. I am wondering if anyone has developed any of their own self-help methods to heal the memories and hurts about their childhood trauma. Living with the symptoms of anger and addiction are horrendous. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thankyou

11 Replies 11

Bear1922
Community Member

Honestly, the only self-help methods I've learnt have been given to me by my psychologist.

I guess my natural curiosity & tendency to research may be construed as self-help.

Resilience & a good sense of humour have also helped.

Wishing you God speed on your journey to recovery from CPTSD.

romantic_thi3f
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi CKS,

Thank you for your post and it sounds like you're working really hard to manage your trauma; I think it's a very resilient trait to be so committed to something so difficult.

Bear1922 made a really good point; have you thought about asking your counsellor or psychiatrist for some self-help ideas?