FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Recovering and Coping with Depression/Self Doubt/Break up

am1295
Community Member

Hey everybody
im a 22 year old male who migrated from the middle east when I was3 months old with my parents. Im currently studying engineering (in my final year!) and work part time. Id consider myself quite self critical, calm in nature and I have good social skills. Just as a brief summary, the family dynamic in my household is incredibly toxic (parents constantly insult each other, anger directed towards me). Id say Ive grown apart from my father significantly and could be closer to my mother.
Anyways I made 2017 a year to concentrate and change my results. University was an incredibly tough experience for me and taught me a lot in terms of my resilience. The stress of uni work, my parents constantly fighting, family financial stress, self doubt, self pity (was bullied in highschool) culminated into my depression I guess. My now ex gf is the reason I'm here and Im pretty sure I wouldnt be typing this message if it wasnt for her.
We broke up late April I believe. We were doing a long distance relationship and towards the end it was getting too hard. I didnt finish my degree on time, she did and started to work. I dont have enough characters to explain but It came down to me or her family . The hardest part was the fact that we still loved each other and pretended it was all good before she flew up. I dont think Ive moved on, and of only recently convinced myself that she doesnt want me anymore.