FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Working with Bipolar/BPD

Mental_Illness_Innit
Community Member

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm doing this right haha.

I recently got diagnosed with Bipolar (type 2) and have been diagnosed with BPD since 2020. For reference, I'm 22 years old. I really struggle with mood changes. They can be quite jarring and my depressed self tends to suffer as a result of all the things my hypomanic self has committed to.

I have struggled with maintaining a consistent work schedule since 2020. I think that covid really messed me around if I'm being honest. I mean I've always struggled but it's gotten to the point where I am constantly calling in sick. I lost a really great job in 2020 because I took on a full-time workload when I shouldn't have, and started calling in sick constantly. I think for my employers it's very confusing. Because when I'm in an 'up' period I'm a really great worker and often receive a lot of praise. But when I'm in a depressed period I all of a sudden lose all motivation to try.

I went for a period without work, and then ran out of savings so got a job as a tutor (I am studying teaching at the moment). I only work about 6 hours a week. These hours are spread out over several days so I end up only having an hour a day most days. This does work well for me but lately, I have found myself really struggling to have the motivation to go in and I have been rescheduling a lot of my student's appointments.

I feel really bad about myself because I'm struggling even to do this tiny workload. It's like there's this block in my head that's just like "you're going to be stuck there and you don't have the energy and it's gonna suck" ect ect. Even though when I get to the appointment it's never as bad as I think.