FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Unsure

S98
Community Member

Hi,

So this is my first time writing on here and i'm just feeling unsure about how i'm feeling and what to do. For many years i've suffered with depression and anxiety. In the past few months its gotten worse and I don't know what to do. I've tried medication but that never helped it just made me feel numb inside. My mental health doesn't just effect me but others around me and I take my anger out of my partner and family when I don't mean to.

Can anyone give me any tips with what to do before it gets any worse. Also, does anyone recommend self administration into a psych/hospital?

thankyou, S.

4 Replies 4

Alexlisa
Community Member

Hello S98.

I'm really sorry that you're feeling like this, but its great that you've reached out here. There are lots of people who can relate to where you're at, so you're not alone in this.

I just wanted to tell you about my experience of hospitalisation, because I've been in several times. Firstly, there is a very big difference between public and private hospital. I've only discussed private here, though I've been in both.

When I've been in a private hospital it has been a positive experience. There were a mix of a lot of different types of people there, with different kinds of symptoms and severity. Some people go inpatient when they're very unwell and need crisis care, and others go in when they just need more intense support than they get on the outside, to learn new skills to manage, or change/start medication.