FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Trying to find the drive to help myself.

Wicks
Community Member

Hi, 28 year old male, I've been grappling with depression for years but in 2020 I finally suffered a full mental breakdown and completely fell off the rails, my Anxiety and Depression spiked and I completely shutdown.

I've been seeing my doctor who has been supportive, spoken with friends and visited 2 different Psychologists to try and fix myself and yet I find myself sitting in my room, wanting to go outside, wanting to see my friends, wanting to lose weight and eat healthier and start my journey of fixing myself and yet...I don't.

I can't pin down an exact reason why, speaking with my Psych and GP, family and friends I know I have the support and the tools I need but I just don't end up doing anything to try and help myself.

Lately I've been getting frustrated at myself because it almost feels like I'm not at the wheel, I know I should socialize and yet I actively mute my chats and hide from my friends, who I know want to support me any way they can, I know I should do something creative that I enjoy like painting or playing video games and yet I'll stay in bed all day or just stare at my desk top, it just goes on and on.

I need structure but I struggle to commit, I make plans and then ignore them or cancel them, I need my friends and yet for some reason I push them away, I sometimes feel that I don't want myself to feel better, that I don't deserve to be happy and I just don't see a point to trying to fix it anymore.

I'm really not sure where I'm going with this post or what I want out of it, it's all just kind of coming out onto the page at this point, but I guess, do other people feel this way? Where you know what you have to do and you just don't do it?

6 Replies 6

ecomama
Valued Contributor