FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Sensitive and Unmotivated

asianaussie
Community Member

Hi, I'm a 22 year old female. I'm currently studying TAFE and working part-time as a Beauty/Massage Therapist. Both in a salon and Freelance.

This year has been personally difficult. I've had to give up my Arts degree due to heavy debts. My former retail job of 3 years closed down. I've lost 2 jobs within 6 months. I dealt with 6 months of bullying at a hair salon, which resulted in my abrupt resignation, and I'm still grieving from the loss of a friend of mine early this year. My family, already struggling financially, pressured me into doing this career because it's 'financially sustainable'.

I've since then tried my best to work to keep in money, along with something that would suit me. While many people have said I'm good at Massage, and it's not a bad job, I've also been struggling in it. Due to pressure and inexperience, I often come across as 'socially awkward', and end up offending clients. With my current boss adding more shift days to my schedule, along with TAFE it's becoming harder to cope with. I've had to cancel Freelance and in turn drop some clients out, some responding harshly. I've already received several bad reviews, both about me and the salons I've worked at. One of them firing me as a result.