FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Living with dysthymia

LizzieB
Community Member

Hi everyone, I am new to Beyond Blue.  I am 42 and have been living with depression for many years. I had an acute episode of post-natal depression after my first child was born which was not diagnosed until I was having some pretty scary symptoms and as a result I sought help and was diagnosed with mental illness for the first time.  The doctors then put me on medication which settled things down but it's been a roller-coaster ever since.  Eventually about 8 years ago I was finally diagnosed with dysthymia and it appears that in reality I have suffered depression since my early teens.  My mother says it all makes sense now!  LOL. I come from a very good family but emotionally my parents were always a little 'vacant' growing up.   I have been on and off anti-depressants since that first acute episode and have now come to grips with the fact I will be on meds forever.  Felt like a failure for so long and have had a big battle with myself over that! 

Rationally, when I look at my life as if someone else is looking in, my life is pretty good;  re-married to a great supportive man who I love deeply, four children between us, good job etc.. it just all still feels like a struggle.  At times I feel like I'm going to break apart.  I have this feeling that if I let even the smallest amount of emotion out, then it will overwhelm me and there'll be no putting it back in.  I feel like I'm holding back a huge tide.  I tell myself to get control and breathe because if I let it go, 

I'm afraid I won't be able to get back to myself. 

Does anyone have these same feelings?? 

SIMILAR POSTS

Does anyone else have dysthymia?

Dysthymia - I'm newly diagnosed

Doctors and dysthymia

Persistent depressive disorder (dysthymia)