FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I don't even know what I want......so how can I get help?

Hepburn
Community Member

Hi,

I'm new to BB but not really new to depression. I've suffered for around 6 years but it has gotten worse with time and now anxiety is a problem too.

i do a lot of pretending. Pretending I'm doing better than I am, pretending I care about things I don't, and pretending I want to fix it......when the reality is I want it to be fixed, but couldn't be stuffed doing the work to fix it...you know?

im a mum, a wife, a teacher, a daughter, a strong woman etc etc........that's the roles others have put on me.....I just want to be left alone and not have to deal with anything. I'm tired but I can only sleep cause I take large amounts of medications. I'm on strong anti depressants but they really aren't working well,

I have issues that I apparently should be talking to a psychologist about but it just doesn't feel right to sit down with someone and chat about my past that can't be changed, and I have everything I'm supposed to want in life yet I'm still depressed and have anxiety.........what's the deal with that? 

i can't be the only person who hates the idea of seeing a psych. Can I?

2 Replies 2

laura86
Community Member

Hello Hepburn,

Welcome to BB forums! Thank you for trusting us and reaching out to us. Like you, most of us have been struggling with depression and mental illness for many years before we came to BB.

And like you most of us have become experts at pretending. We go through life being strong and powering on, pretending like we're fine when in reality we are crumbling inside.