FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Don't assume someone is OK by how they look on the outside

Melancholy Yogini
Community Member

Participating in such a forum like this is new to me but I felt it was necessary for so many given our crazy Covid world right now.

I am a yoga teacher with depression. That sentence is quite hard for me to say because I don't always like to admit that to myself. Just because I practice and teach yoga does not mean that I am always happy: and that’s ok. I have suffered anxiety and depression for the longest time. On the outside I have a blessed life and I hide my sadness from almost everyone, but in the past I have at times fallen into despair and loneliness, had suicidal thoughts, attempted to hurt myself, curled up on the floor in isolation and struggled with terrible feelings of self-loathing.

I am sharing this because I want you to know that you are not alone and it’s ok to feel what you feel. Our society tells us we should be happy and pleasant and social media is full of happy adventures and friends and family shots, which for someone who is not feeling great can be overwhelming. A yoga mat offers me a place to be authentic and honest. I don’t have to be perfect or happy and it’s ok to cry. It is a place to give myself permission to practice self-care, to move with my feelings rather than cover them up. So when I go to my mat I take my fatigue, my sadness, my disappointment, my fear, my anger, my anxiety and my depression. Life is not always shiny but after giving myself a little self-care I hope that a little more joy and happiness shines through me.