FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Seeking advice on how to face a hospital stay

NMTB
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
Hey all,

As I have mentioned elsewhere as a Newb to this forum, I am a veteran of a 40 year battle with anxiety (GAD, Social Phobia, PD, Agoraphobia) and over the past 10 years Depression added to the mix. I haven’t left the house, except for medical appointments for that decade (and with a few heavily medicated family gathering exceptions). I haven’t seen my boy play football or do athletics in person (he is 9 years old) nor attended assemblies where he has been given awards. I haven’t even kicked a football with him in the local park. Such things are the source of much sadness and self-loathing. Anyway – I digress.

Over the journey I have seen more psychologists and allied therapists than I care to remember but during the last 20 years or so I have restricted myself to psychiatric care and take a special interest in developments in medication rather than trends in psychotherapy (I emphasise that if CBT, hypnotism, meditation, mindfulness or a combination benefits you I think that’s great – just doesn’t work for me).

So against that background, the recent diagnosis that I needed a hip replacement has put me in a quandary. I have previously only stayed in

hospital during the day and indeed on one occasion discharged myself rather than stay the night after a motorbike crash. Don’t think that is an option this time!