FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Quitting job due to anxiety - what now?

Sylvia770
Community Member

Hey guys - this is my first time posting so I am really nervous. To set the scene - I am a young woman in her early-mid 20's and have struggled getting and holding down a job my whole adult life. I have had anxiety since I was a child and suffered from depression as a teenager. I am also both shy and introverted. I recently quit a job I had in finance in a customer service role as I just could not stand it anymore, only to walk into another job in finance that's main focus is on selling a financial product. As most of you can imagine, when you're shy, anxious and introverted any job that involves excessive customer contact is the equivalent of hell on earth. I've only worked this job for a week and am already getting heart palpitations every morning I wake up for work. I'm even anxious about working on the days I am not working. As I have substantial savings from my previous job, I have decided to prioritise my mental health and quit today. The only thing is - I don't know where to next. I am close to finishing a bachelor's degree in health science but don't have any other qualifications. I have around 3 years of general admin experience, but no real technical skills. Has anyone been in a similar position before? Moreover - has anyone been able to find a part time or full time job that doesn't exasperate your anxiety? I am just looking for ideas and a little guidance.

4 Replies 4

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Sylvia, welcome, I think I can help.

So, you will quite work today and you are near finishing your degree (well done). But anxiety has taken hold and job choice currently is an issue.