FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Panic attacks on holidays

lilykitten
Community Member

Hello folks. I have GAD but seem to manage it very well using all the breathing methods etc. I work as a teacher, have 2 demanding teenage girls and my husband is out of work but despite a racing brain which makes me a bit forgetful, no one would notice. It's in my downtime that the panic attacks hit. As the meal arrives at the dinner or as I am about to get on a plane or when arriving at a swanky hotel. The symptoms are pins and needles across my scalp, fuzzy vision, clamminess, nausea but most of all diarrhea. I can get through it with deep breathing and many visits to the loo but I wonder if I am destined to never fully enjoy a holiday. I am looking at two options 1. medication for anxiety or 2. mediation for nausea and diarrhea. Do you think either is worthwhile? I'm the sort of person who never takes medication and doesn't drink.

6 Replies 6

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Lilykitten~

I've read your other posts at:

Forums / Relationship and family issues / Co-dependent Relationship help. and earlier at
Forums / Anxiety / Anxiety and self esteem

And think the whole thing probably runs together. You are under a lot of pressure at home doing all those jobs, plus you are the breadwinner and have a very demanding job as a teacher.

If you add to that a parent who always criticized your actions and a husband who appears to take advantage of your abilities and willingness to shoulder the family responsibilities I'd suspect that over the years it has had a fundamental effect on you that really needs addressing.

Having panic attacks and nausea plus needing to go often and urgently to the loo are in themselves a source of even more stress, I have had exactly the same.