FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Noise anxiety

PeggySue92
Community Member

Hi all, this is my first time posting and I suffer from noise anxiety.

My noise anxiety only exists in my own home, I work in a noisy office environment and this is not a trigger at all. In the past we have had noisy neighbours, air-con units, loud music etc all causing me to think about when the noise will happen again and this causes me to worry about constantly. Even to the point of missing out on enjoying things because I need to try and control situations.

At the moment we are in our own house and the neighbours have a dog that barks ALL THE TIME. It’s sensitive to everything and anything and is causing me anxiety because we cant go out to our backyard without being aggressively barked at. The issue has been brought up with the neighbours and they are aware that the barking is disturbing me and my family but not a lot has been done.

I'm tired of worrying and thinking the worst of what ‘might’ happen.

I'd like to hear from anyone that suffers the same type of anxiety and if they have tips on how to deal with it.

Thank you.

44 Replies 44

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello PeggySue, and a warm welcome to you.

Being annoyed by noises can sometimes be known as Misophonia, although I'm not qualified to say, but a dripping tap can affect how I feel, it annoys me while dripping in the background.

If you've spoken to your neighbours about their dog constantly barking and nothing is done, then you can go to your council and report it.

This may cause negativity and could affect on how you feel, as you have told us, but you can put some earphones on, playing music that you like, the more relaxed you are in other areas of your life, the better you will be at dealing with these triggers.