FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New job, little training and a ton of anxiety.

MelStorey
Community Member

Hi all,

I’m feeling pretty terrible because I started a new job in a field of work that I have no experience in. I was upfront about my lack of experience during the interview process and they assured me that that was fine. I asked about a training plan, of which they told me they would provide.

The job requires me to cover a maternity contract for 6 months of which I would be working two days a week for six weeks prior to the 6 month contract. These two days would be spent training with the girl that I’m going to cover whilst she is on maternity leave.

I started two weeks ago and it’s clear how little this girl wants to train me. She pretty much gives me the most basic of information and then leaves me alone and expects me to be able to complete the work she has assigned me. It’s all so new and she doesn’t give me any context into the role or allocated tasks.

This leaves me with a huge degree of anxiety, to the point that I can’t sleep and my mind is racing all the time and I just want to leave. This girl who is training me doesn’t make any effort to follow up on my work or even ask how I’m going. She always seems exasperated when I ask for help and I believe she thinks I should be further along with my training. So far, I’ve only completed four days but I feel like I will struggle to undertake this job due to a lack of support.

Ive asked this girl to set aside time to answer my questions and spend time with me going over my notes. She said she would help but is yet to follow through. Don’t know if I should just quit due to lack of training and support.

5 Replies 5

White_Rose
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Dear MelStorey