FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New and looking for advice...

fourtimes
Community Member

Hi, I am new to this forum.

Anxiety definitely runs in my family and im finding out more over the years how much I struggle with it. I am still learning about it and myself.

My biggest problem is how to deal with it, I know what my main triggers are but I cant manage to escape it or think differently.

I know that my partner and family are my main things that cause my anxiety but also I have issues with things having to be in routine.

I'm wondering how others retrain their minds to be positive or think differently? or is that impossible when you feel this way?

I only have just opened up to my family and partner about how I feel, I guess I am very closed off with talking about it.

The feeling of all this weight on you, the constant lump in your throat or not being able to focus is overwhelming.

Some days waking up its already there and as the day goes on it just becomes stronger.

I have been to see a doctor and was recommended to see a counsellor but I am quiet hesitant, I am not overly keen for medication either.

But I also just want it to go away.

I don't know exactly the point of me posting anything on here, maybe to hear an outside opinion or thoughts or even how you deal with it.

4 Replies 4

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Fourtimes~

First off I'd like to welcome you here - you have had to wait a while for a response, I'm sorry about that, it is a downside of this system, and no reflection on you.