FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Job Anxiety

jack85
Community Member

Hi there,

I thought I’d post about my own experience with mental health (depression and anxiety) as I’ve found a lot of posts similar to my experience.

I’ve experienced feelings of depression and anxiety for as long as I can remember. Anxiety more so. Earlier this year I saw a GP and was referred to a therapist, who I I did a few sessions with but unfortunately had to stop due to the increasing cost. However the whole experience of getting help and talking with someone helped a great deal.I still experience strong feelings of anxiety and often times depression. I’m a personal trainer and I find my job, workplace and helping other people helps me a lot. However over the years and recently I’ve taken bar jobs here and there, sometimes long term and sometimes just to get a bit of cash together. However I find my anxiety and sometimes my depression skyrockets when I’m back in that environment. Most often the people, patrons, odd hours and just the general negative environment finds me looking for any way out and generally leaves me feeling pretty negative before and during a shift. I’ll spend most of the week leading up to a shift miserable and anxious.

I also have a bad habit of bailing on these jobs, not showing up to shifts, leaving without notice etc. which makes me feel terribly guilty but I feel the environment is not conducive for my mental health and only makes my anxiety worse. I’ve found this as rarely, if ever, do I experience these feelings with my personal trainer job.

I was just wondering if any one had experienced similar, particularly in the hospo industry. I constantly feel guilty for leaving these jobs at a moments notice but feel as though it’s best for my mental health.

thanks 🙂

4 Replies 4

Cursed_U
Community Member