FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Health anxiety about heart

Anon222
Community Member
Hello, this is my first time posting and I’m not sure if anyone will be able to relate or not but I always have chest pains and I am constantly getting heart palpitations and I have convinced myself there is something wrong with my heart, I have had ECG and blood test and chest X-ray and my GP and the doctors from the hospital (I’ve been to emergency) have said it’s most likely not my heart but they can’t tell me what it actually is which gives me really bad anxiety. I can spend hours googling my symptoms online. My heart feels like it skips a beat sometimes and then a thud and then beats really hard, sometimes I’ll just be watching tv and it happens... it doesn’t hurt but it scares me and then I get anxiety about it. I’m pretty healthy I’m 29 year old female not overweight and my cholesterol and everything is normal I’m just paranoid that the doctors are missing something. My actual chest pin varies from burning sometimes to little twitches that hurt & sharp pains and it’s forever changing. I don’t know how to stop worrying about it and going to the doctor every week for them to tell me it’s nothing
7 Replies 7

Meladjusted
Community Member
Hi,
I can totally relate, you're not alone. 5 years ago I was having heart palpitations, I'd go to bed at night and my heart would feel like a butterfly in my chest. It felt all over the place and the doctors couldn't find anything wrong.
It's clear to me now, I had a hormonal imbalance and the Doctors missing it really set up a bad panic attack loop for me. They did test my thyroid but no other hormones, plus having not had those tests before there was no baseline for what was normal for me.