FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

DEALING WITH HEALTH ANXIETY

Anxious17
Community Member

Hi i am new to Beyond Blue. I suffer from severe GAD when it comes to my health. I am at the doctor's every week, getting tests for what ever new symptom has popped up in my body even the smallest thing like a bruise. I am 33 and lost my Dad suddenly to brain cancer 4 years ago, since then i have never been the same. Due to my anxiety i suffer with high blood pressure. Once i feel that start to rise my anxiety kicks in, my heart will start to race and ill start with panic attacks thinking im having a heart attack. Its a viscous circle that doesnt end. I get blood tests, Ct scans, x rays, ultrasounds, ECG's and urine tests constantly. I have tried a couple counseling sessions and my doctor has prescribed me with anti anxiety meds but i am too scared to take them for fears i will be depending on them for life. Any one else in the same situation? Anyone else have these feelings or know other ways of coping? Would love to hear it.

4 Replies 4

Doolhof
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Anxious17,

Sorry to read your Dad died of brain cancer. That must have been an awful time for you and all his loved ones. It can be very hard when we deal with grief and loss.

It may be beneficial to continue with the counselling sessions and to do a little research yourself on anxiety and how it can affect us. The Beyond Blue website has information you may find helpful.

Someone reminded me recently to just take the time to deep breathe, even for 10 long, slow breathes. It helped me to feel calmer and to gain more control over what I was feeling.

Could you talk to your Dr about your fears regarding the medication and maybe ask your Dr to help you with a trial period taking the medication.