FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Child with Anxiety after being bullied at school.

Baker82
Community Member

Hi this is my first time here.

My son is 9 and last term at school he was physically and mentally bullied at school and the school handled it really quite bad. The schools way to deal with it was to try and make him be friends with the kid and tell him he was not allowed to tell the child who who bullied him he couldn't play with him. I had so many meetings over the term with the school and they couldn't understand how this was wrong and even said that my son could "fix" this other child as he has behavior issues and my son is quite bright and is a strict rule follower and is quite gentle and values good friends.

Ever since he has dreaded going to school. The little boy has settled down and his behavior towards my son has turned around. However My sons anxiety of a morning is terrible. He is always either sick or has a sore tummy or headache. I even took a video of him this morning. I thought it might be better after the holidays but its not. He is apparently OK during the day and once he sees his friends he waves at them but still quiet with his head down. He Expresses he doesn't like the noise at school??? its a new thing. The school yard is small and quite busy for the amount of kids in it and I don't think that helps. He is a really bright boy and loves learning and for him to be feeling like this about school is heartbreaking.

We are thinking about moving him and his brother to a new school next year but wonder if we should try and get them in this year would that help?

any suggestions would be grateful. Thank you

2 Replies 2

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Baker82, can I apologise for a late reply and want to welcome you to the site.