FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Catastrophic and irrational thoughts

Sunday1991
Community Member

Oh boy.. Where do I begin.

So I've had anxiety for years but at least I have managed to function. At the moment however that is not the case or if I am trying to get on with my day it is extremely uncomfortable and stressful.

So I have a bit of everything: depression, anxiety, ocd and possibly adhd. All these together make like so hard.

You know the common way to think about someone with OCD is the are afraid of germs.. Well I'm am the opposite of this. I am so terrified I am going to pass on germs and some kind of infection onto somebody even though I know I am super hygienic and clean I am.

I live in an apartment and my occupation is cleaning so every time I a touch door knob, button for an elevator, recyle and rubbish bin I always wipe it over with water and a fresh cloth to ease the anxiety of making someone sick.

With my cleaning I now always wear gloves even if they aren't necessary because I honestly believe my hands are contaminated and could make someone sick. I guess my biggest fear is making someone ill so this is why I have these thoughts and behaviors.

Also if I touch certain things with my bare hands for example: a spoon in the draw, I then start to believe ALL the cutlery, tea towels, other untelsils and draws are now contaminated so then J grab all the utensils, put them in the dishwasher (so I'm also waisting water and money) put some gloves on, grab paper towel and spray and I start sterilising the draws. It takes up a lot of my time and I get so irritated, my fight or flight spirals, I feel so depressed, so stressed and I cry a lot.. Like a lot..