FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Binge eating disorder

Guest5643
Community Member

Ive always been a comfort eater for as long as i can remember but didn't realise alot of what i do is binge eating until a few months ago. Today after reading the dsm5 diagnosis criteria thing it comfirmed i have binge eating disorder. I'm secretly ashamed and embarrased to have this. I'm struggling with the term disorder with it cause it makes me feel like it's something people can never get control of. I would love to know peoples experiences with it.

Lynne

6 Replies 6

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

Technically I have no experience with the actual disorder.

Do I over eat- yes. Am I over weight oh yes. Have I dieted a lot over my 63 years- you bet. Has any diet been successful - a few. Will I ever give up on being over weight- never!

So that is the extent of my knowledge- sorry.

What I'd like to ask is why you are embarrassed by the term "Binge Eating Disorder". Any disorder is in my opinion, a reflection of behavior or symptoms that are outside the parameters of "normal". This could include many things. Eg addictions like smoking, gambling, alcohol, medical conditions. Imagine how many people have "disorders". So disorders aren't uncommon, they are nothing to be ashamed of.

Do you believe your disorder is your fault? If so what could you have done to prevent it developing?

As for control of a disorder, many disorders can never be fully controlled. However with determination we can get a slight grip on them so we end up closer to the accepted level in society with the spin off with better health. Eg A high BMI level for someone can be reduced to a more acceptable level with a balanced diet and more exercise especially if such changes are regularly carried out.