FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Asbestos roof anxiety - HELP

Chorlton12
Community Member

Hi everyone

Ive been subletting a property in WA for 6 months not realising the roof was asbestos. I am now constantly researching asbestos roofs and worried that I've done damage to my health. I know I shouldn't worry about the future but I'm scared Ive already done the damage.

I can't believe it's not illegal to have had these roofs removed. I'm so upset with myself, Ive been living here for 6 months and Perth has had a very wet and windy winter. I feel my life is ruined

I don't know how to go on, please help with this anxiety.

4 Replies 4

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

It is commonly known that asbestos is harmless in houses unless being removed or disturbed. In both cases strict protection must be worn and material disposed of under regulations.

Until then its perfectly safe and that is why it hasnt been removed from many houses even some owned by the housing commission.

If I was in your situation I would relax and not worry about it. Sometimes worry is worse than the thing you are concerned about.

https://www.beyondblue.org.au/get-support/online-forums/anxiety/worry-worry-worry

TonyWK

Guest_7403
Community Member

Asbestos in homes and buildings is alot more common than you think.

As white knight has stated....unless you're sanding it, breaking it into small fibres there is no risk.

Its also overstated with its effects, it caused issues for people exposed to those airborne fibres who worked with it day in/day out.

I understand your anxiety but you are safe and not at risk.

Ggrand
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello Dear Chorlton,

Like TonyWK and Guest_7403, I would like to reassure you that you are safe living with an asbestos roof...