FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxious, sad and overwhelmed by the thought of completing everyday tasks

Girty
Community Member

Hi there,

I'm just wondering if anybody can help/relate. I have always suffered mild anxiety but I've mostly always managed it (I've had a few panic attacks over the years) I am a teacher and am currently on holidays which I should be so excited about but I just feel hopeless and so anxious and sad and I just don't entirely know why. I spent most of the day crying and I just couldn't get the motivation to get up and do everyday household things I was meant to like the dishes... I caught up with a friend in the afternoon but spent all morning feeling so anxious about the stupidest things like what to wear and how much time I had and guilty at the fact that I had done none of the above households things that needed to be done etc etc... I thought of so many ways that I could to get out of it but it got too late to cancel and I sucked up the tears and went (don't know how) I enjoyed myself and was out for a few hours but I feel like I was just putting on a 'happy act' and as soon as I got in the car the bawled my eyes out to the point I nearly had a panic attack.... All of which has brought me here as I feel like this time round a good night's sleep isn't going to fix todays sad feelings... if that makes sense. I have a hard time talking to loved ones about it because I don't want to burden or worry them. My fiance has clinical depression which I worry about all the time even though he manages it and lives a happy and healthy life... My little brother also has severe anxiety/depression....I guess I just worry all the time... It's really taking its toll on me at the moment 😞