FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxious about teaching jobs and sleep problem

Whatsitallabout
Community Member

I’ve been a primary teacher for about 10 years (in different locations) and I’ve got to the point now where I feel too anxious to take another teaching job. I was always anxious about teaching and all the observations and judgement from everyone- parents, other teachers, principals etc. I used to work long hours and tried my best to prepare good activities etc and then over time I started to get anxiety and sleep problems. Then I keep going to work without sleeping Which eventually makes you ill and then you need time off quite regularly. In the end I would resign for the end of the school year and sometimes I’d only last a term in some schools. Now I’m at the stage where I know my anxiety and sleep problem is so bad that I can’t take another teaching job. I know it’s a big responsibility looking after kids and I don’t want to let them down in their education. Now I’ve been without work for almost a year. I feel guilty, anxious and stressed about not working. I’ve even applied for teaching jobs and been offered them but then I’ve turned them down because of anxiety. I feel such a failure and I beat myself up because I can’t get up in the morning - because I can’t sleep often till about 4am. My family discuss with each other how unsuccessful I am. My husband was diagnosed with terminal cancer last year (he’s not been working since the start of the VIC lockdown) and that’s only added to the anxiety. I must work and I can’t afford counselling. I really don’t know what to do.

3 Replies 3

Gambit87
Community Member

Hi!

I'm really sorry you are struggling! I cant even begin to imagine what you are going through - especially with your husbands diagnosis.