FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety over casual work/living situation

Laura__
Community Member
Basically my situation is that I am a casual teacher, I graduated end of last year. I got married this year, but the timing wasn't great as my partner dropped from full-time work to part time in order to complete a degree. This meant that rather than our original plan to move out, we had to stay living at my parents (and will likely have to for the next couple of years). The issue isn't living here because we have a big house with our own space (and privacy) the issue is that I so desperately want our own home and to start a family. And for the past couple of years it's all I can focus on, it's exhausting. My partner has gone for many jobs/scholarships this year as he hates where he currently works and gets paid next to nothing. Everytime he comes so close but just misses out. He had an amazing job opportunity come up this week, and it seemed as though he had it in the bag. But circumstances changed and it doesn't look like it's going to happen. The problem is I got my hopes up too high, I started looking at houses for sale and furniture and got way ahead of myself. I haven't been taking casual teaching days because I'm so tired (I've been having restless leg syndrome at night) and my mind is so preoccupied, and all I've been doing is sitting at home and dwelling on the life I want but can't have. I feel as though I can't face work in this anxious state, and I just want to be by myself. I feel trapped in our situation, it's an incredible amount of pressure on me to support us on my casual wage. I have a problem with sitting on social media and comparing myself to everyone else, and envying them because they are achieving things I'm not and living 'normal' adult lives. I'm not a patient person and people always say