FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety and Depression - work realted

Squid69
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
I have just signed up for Blue Voices, and have decided to share my story and experience, as I continue to struggle with my mental illness and I feel that becoming involved in Blue Voices may just assist others, as well as giving me another outlet to talk about my issues.I have been suffering from Depression and Anxiety for at least 15 years, however in late 2014 I suffered two breakdowns at work within a week and a half. This led to me having four months off work, and subsequently relocating my place of work in March 2015. I was diagnosed as having acute depression and anxiety, which was work related. I work as a Manager in the Banking industry and have been working for the same employer for over 30 years now. My employer went through two restructures which left less people to do more work. This is not unusual in this day and age in many industries. Within two months of the last restructure, and a long running battle trying to fight my way through how I was feeling and dealing with my issues, my body and mind gave up on me. I ended up curled up in the corner of an office, crying and sobbing uncontrollably for half and hour. When my Senior Manager found me, I was told to go for a walk and then meet him in a nearby coffee shop. At that meeting I cried continually still (embarrassing for a 45 year old male). I was given a week off work by my GP, returned to work, and on my third day back I collapsed again. The changes in our office led me to not be able to service my clients to their expectations, nor keep up with the large increase in workload. The feeling of not being able to do my job effectively made me feel like I was letting everybody else down, all the while displaying very obvious signs of no