FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Why do I feel so empty?

Zoster
Community Member

I mean, my life is going fine. I'm in my last year of school, got some cool friends... but why do I feel so empty? I wake up in the morning and I'm still tired, I can't focus on more than one thing or I muck things up, just the thought of talking about my problems to my mum makes me feel sick. I was brought up in the country and where I lived, to talk about your feelings was seen as a weakness, which is why I can't do it today. I lived there for 5 years so I suppose it's been moulded into my head hasn't it?

I just don't know what to do... I've heard about this site but... I really don't see how it can help. But oh well.... I'll give this a go I guess.

2 Replies 2

Quercus
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Zoster,

Good on you for posting and giving speaking up a go. These forums are a safe place to work through issues. Noone is going to judge you for writing about how you feel because we're all in the same boat (or have been there too).

Year 12 is bloody stressful. Even if everything seems to be going smoothly there is no escaping that the pressure to decide your future is massive. Like you (I'm 33 so forgive me it's been a while) I remember feeling numb. Feeling overwhelmed and that the idea of this future looming didn't really fill me with any sort of hope.

I do think this is a sign of needing some support. If you feel awkward about talking to your Mum how would you feel about having a chat on one of the helplines?