FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What is wrong with me?

Zara_is_alone
Community Member

Hi everyone

This is my first time posting and I guess, first time trying to get some help

I haven't been to a doctor to get help yet so I can't accurately describe/label what is wrong with me

I can feel myself falling into a really dark place and there is nothing causing it. Last week, and again tonight, I started crying and I can't control it. Once the crying stops I can't breathe and I can't get my heart to beat at a normal pace

I am afraid to go to a doctor because they usually just say have a nurofen and get some rest

i am about to turn 23, I am in my last semester of uni and I don't know what I'll do when i graduate

currently I am laying in bed and i feel like I'm floating, I also feel like I am being horrible to everyone I know because I am upset within myself but I don't know what to do about it

I don't know what is wrong with me, I want to see a psychologist so badly but I just looked one up and it is $160 an hour and I can't afford it

can anybody help point me in the right direction?

I know I need help but I am so afraid to start

2 Replies 2

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Zara, please let me welcome you to the site and I'm truly sorry for how you are feeling and there doesn't have to be any particular reason why you are the way you are feeling, because mental illness is different than having a broken leg, that's something people can see, but not with how you are feeling.

Can I suggest that you click on 'The Facts' and scroll down until you see 'K-10', it's a depression test and try to do it several times, but not straight after the other, but different times of the day and keep these results.